The gift of the lord's supper (Heftet)

The reception of the benefits of Christ's real presence in the early eucharist works of Martin Chemnitz

Serie: Religionsfag Profil 26


Brynjulf Hoaas

Innbinding: Heftet
Utgivelsesår: 2016
Antall sider: 236
Forlag: Portal forlag
Språk/målform: Engelsk
Serie: Religionsfag Profil
Serienummer: 26
ISBN: 9788283140750
Kategori: Religion
Fag: Religion
Nivå: Akademisk
Om utgivelsen The gift of the lord's supper

Martin Chemnitz (1522-1586) - a Lutheran reformer of the second generation - is by many regarded as one of the most outstanding theologian of his time. When Luther died in 1546, the church which was named after him, moved into a period with serious internal conflicts. Doctrines which were in the center of the reformation theology became contested. In this difficult situation Chemnitz' strove strenuously to unite the divided Lutheran church. He has become best known as one of the main authors of the Lutheran document known as The Formula of Concord (1577). From the early 1550s the doctrine of the Lord's Supper became the most decisive point of controversy among the Lutherans. This was the time and climate in which Chemnitz started to devout himself to theological studies and writing.

The main source of the present study, Repetitio sane doctrinae (German: Die Reine Gesunde Lehre) was Chemnitz first publication of an extensive authorship. This is the second book by Brynjulf Hoaas on Martin Chemnitz' theology. The first, published in 2013, investigated Chemnitz' understanding of conversion. Hoaas' two books on Chemnitz represent a signifi cant Norwegian contribution to studies of Lutheran theology in the 16th century.

Til toppen

Associate Professor emeritus of church history and systematic theology at Fjellhaug International University College, Oslo. Candidate of theology at MF Norwegian School of Theology, Oslo,
1970. Master of Sacred Theology at Concordia Seminary, Fort Wayne, USA, 1985. Theological Doctor at Concordia Theological Seminary, St. Louis, USA, 1991.
Bøker i serien